BBNYA Spotlight – Awakening: The Commune’s Curse Book 1 by Lucy A. McLaren

Banner that says "BBNYA Spotlight Tours 2023"

Hello Everyone!

Today I’m continuing on with the spotlight tours for BBNYA 2023. Today I’m shining the spotlight on Awakening: The Commune’s Curse Book One by Lucy A. McLaren. Thank you to the BBNYA team for putting the media kits together for the spotlight tours.

Banner that says "Book Details"

Title: Awakening: The Commune’s Curse: Book 1
Author: Lucy A. McLaren
Age Category: Adult
Genre: Fantasy
Length: 380 Pages
Published: May 1, 2022
Buy the Book: Amazon
Add on Goodreads and TheStoryGraph

Cover of the book Awakening: The Commune's Curse: Book 1 by Lucy A McLaren

Banner that says "About the Book"

The Kingdom of Septima is ruled in all but name by the Commune, a ruthless cult that seeks control of an ancient power that has taken root in unsuspecting children in Septima. To maintain their hold on the kingdom, the Commune will stop at nothing to capture children who show signs of this power, to be weaponised or eliminated. Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Folksman is in hiding. Taken in by a tavern-owner, she is haunted by the horrific events that drove her from her home years before.

Evelyn is forced to face her past when two wayward children, Raif and Rose Huntsman, arrive at the tavern, pursued by Commune soldiers. The children fall under Evelyn’s reluctant care as the trio narrowly escape a raid. Relentlessly hunted by Commander Jonah Sulemon and Commune agent Lord Eirik Torrant, Evelyn and Raif cannot fathom why they pose such a threat to the Commune, until six-year-old Rose unwittingly reveals a terrible secret: she possesses powers more fearsome than any the Commune has unearthed in decades. There are only two options: to be captured and imprisoned, or to run for the rest of their lives.

Banner that says "About the Author"

Lucy A. McLaren is a fantasy author and professional counsellor, passionate about writing stories that include a realistic representation and exploration of mental health issues. She is a lifelong fan of fantasy stories, and enjoys reading, writing, watching and playing them. McLaren’s debut novel, Awakening: The Commune’s Curse Book 1, released from Santa Fe Writers Project in May 2022. She also has a fantasy short story featured in the Reign of Fire anthology which released from Dragon Soul Press in January 2023. Find her social media links and author website here:

Photo of the author Lucy A. McLaren

Banner that says "About BBNYA"

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 15 finalists and one overall winner.

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Banner that says "Pin This Post"

Graphic that says "spotlight" with the cover of Awakening The Commune's Curse Book 1 by Lucy A. McLaren on it

Banner that says "Find Me Online"

Blog Instagram Twitter Goodreads StoryGraph PinterestMastodon Tumblr BlueskyKo-Fi

One comment

Leave a Reply